What is the WI Child Tax Rebate?
In 2017 the state of Wisconsin recognized a surplus in revenue of almost $400 million. The Walker Administration and the State Legislature opted to return a portion of that to Wisconsin residents in the form of a Wisconsin Child Sales Tax Rebate. The rebate is $100 per qualifying child.
What Are Considered Eligible Children?
Children must be under 18 as of December 31, 2017, and must be claimed as dependents as described in IRS Publication 501. The child must have been a Wisconsin resident and a United State citizen as of 12/31/2017.
How Do I File?
A “claimant” files the paperwork to receive the credit (in most cases, a parent or guardian). You will need to file on the State of Wisconsin Department of Revenue website.
What Should I Know?
- You will need your spouse’s social security number if you are married.
- You will also need your children’s dates of birth and social security numbers.
- Should you want to receive the funds electronically, you will need to provide routing and account information for your bank.
- The site when we went in and filed for the tax credit indicated that it will take about 3 weeks to process the credit.
- The end date for filing is July 2, 2018, and you must file to receive the credit.
Please note that we are not tax advisors and you should seek out the advice of a professional should you have questions or a complex situation. The Department of Revenue website referenced above does contain some basic information on the rebate and eligibility.